My Dad’s plum trees are overflowing with “cooking” plums. I couldn’t stand to see them go to waste so we picked a couple of buckets for freezing and drying so we could do something fabulous with them a little later when we had more time. I ended up bringing about 4 dozen back to the city because I was going to experiment with them in my juicer. Before I could find a juicing recipe I stumbled across an “easy plum jam” recipe and decided to go for it. The recipe really is so simple a monkey could do it.

I took a few liberties with the recipe (since I’m clearly an expert) and left the skins on because that’s how my Mom did it. And why not? Peeling plums sounds like a pain. I also used my food processor to chop them rather than doing it by hand. It takes about 30 or so plums to make 1 pint which is all I ended up making. I tried the jam this morning and am happy to report that it’s quite delicious! Not as good as my Mom’s and a little less firm, but definitely edible.

Next time I’m going to make jam at my Dad’s and use my Mom’s recipe. Plus, all the canning stuff is there so I can boil jars like a real expert. Look out Martha…

Plums!

Plums!

Chop, chop

Chop, chop

Cooking...er...preserving?

Cooking…er…preserving?

Jam!

Jam!

