I took a few extra days off last week so I could pick up a dear friend at the airport and, after a few stops and the addition of 2 passengers, eventually make our way to Bodega to ring in another 40th Birthday. Well, one of those impromptu stops was at The Fremont Diner located on the Carneros Highway between Napa and Sonoma. I’ve passed this place hundreds of times and every time think “I have got to stop here one day!” Fearing death by starvation we pulled in around 3:30 for a “light” snack – which worked out well because they were only serving appetizers until Dinner service started at 5. I thought it was going to be a hamburger & fries kind of place, but it’s actually Southern fare. We perused the menu and settled on the Smoked Brisket Nachos. I am telling you I have never tasted anything so heavenly in all my life! Just as heavenly was everyone who worked there…so nice!
I’ve only had one thing off the menu, but everyone else I know seems familiar with this place and had nothing but rave reviews.
Every time I drive by there’s usually a line so be prepared for a bit of a wait. I’m going to try to swing by soon for breakfast (and by that I mean get up incredibly early, drive 40 minutes, and be the 1st in line for shrimp & grits…or sausage biscuit). It’s good to have goals.
Image

Image

ImageImage

