For the past year my left knee has really been bugging me. It hurt after working out, I couldn’t sit Indian style (cross-legged for you pc folk) for any length of time, and just recently found myself icing it a few times a week hoping for some sort of relief. A couple of weeks ago I went to my doctor and he pretty much confirmed that it’s arthritis. He said there’s not much you can do except use it often so it doesn’t get stiff and manage the pain with ibuprofen (and lose a few pounds). Harumph, I thought!
We then moved on to another topic: SUGAR. I admit it, I have a weakness for sugar. Weakness is probably an understatement considering I invented candy salad! Jelly beans, gummy bears, candy corn…I love it all. Well, after talking with my doc and his explanation of how horribly bad sugar (candy) is for me I decided then and there to give it up. I got home and tossed away all of my candy. I have since gone 2 weeks candy free (except for a little Ben & Jerry’s Greek Yogurt) and you’re never going to believe what happened as a result. My knee pain is completely gone. I can bend it without a problem and, so far, it’s like I have a brand new knee! The only change to my lifestyle has been removing candy/sweets from my diet and after Googling “arthritis & sugar” and perusing all sorts of articles on the subject I am convinced my candy consumption contributed significantly to my knee pain. WHO KNEW?!

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor so please consult your own doctor (or one on the Internet) before making any healthy changes to your lifestyle.  

Image

 

