A few weeks ago my brother, nephew, and Dad were in town and lucky me got to tag along for dinner. We went to one the best seafood restaurants in the city, Sam’s Grill. It’s an “old school” restaurant where the waiters (no waitresses) dress in tuxedos and keep a stiff upper lip. There are 2 sides to the dining area – open air seating or booth seating. We selected booth seating which is very mobster-esque. The booths are floor to ceiling with a door-like entrance that can be covered with a curtain. We were perfectly situated to plan a bank robbery or figure out how to get ole Mugsie Malone out of jail, but we decided to just have dinner.
Image

We started off with the fried calamari and I swear it appeared about 2 minutes after we ordered it. The four of us split 2 ceasar salads because they are ginormous servings. For dinner I had the Sauteed Shellfish (pic below) which was amazing. Dad had the Sweetbreads and I’m sorry I can’t remember what the sauce was…mushrooms maybe? I had a bite and it was good, but I was happy to stick with my shellfish. Dave had Veal Scallopine, I think. It was veal at any rate and he seemed pleased with it. Daniel who doesn’t care for seafood went with a steak of some kind which he enjoyed. We shared a side of asparagus (yum) and creamed spinach (not so yum according to my taste buds). Overall a great experience and I would happily go back again!

Image

