Finally…here are a few final pictures.

The walking tour was through the Chicago Architecture Foundation (thanks for the tip, Snook!) which was great. If I’d had more time I would have done a few more of the walking tours. They’re fast-paced and interesting! The River Tours through the CAF weren’t running yet so I did a tour through a different company. Although it was a beautiful perspective I’d have enjoyed it more if I hadn’t been freezing my buns off. Definitely a summer activity.

Sears Tower was so cool! Honestly, the ride up the elevator with 40 other people packed like sardines was scarier than standing on the ledge. Not to mention, the higher the elevator goes the more shaky it gets. Eeeeek. I was super lucky that I had one day of clear skies so I could take in the magnificent views and actually get to see Lake Michigan!

Lastly, I went to see The South Side of Heaven at The Second City. The Second City is where some of the funniest people honed their comedy skills…including Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Steve Carell, and Tina Fey. I purchased tickets in advance and reserve seating which, as a singleton, was the only way to go. I cannot imagine being stuck at one of those tiny table in front with people I don’t know. (I had “balcony” seating which is a single row of chairs with a skinny bar in front). Perfecto! I can’t even describe how  funny the show is. They did 2 acts that were scripted and a 3rd act of improv. I laughed so hard for so long that my stomach got a workout!! If I were a millionaire, I would hop a plane once a week to see a show. HILARIOUS!!

And, as promised…Dave told me to check out Shaw’s Crab House because he said it was “affordable” and delicious. After walking around for about 1 1/2 hours I finally found it! It was really yummy! How can you go wrong with fried shrimp, calamari, crab cakes, and two beers? You can’t. There was a bit of sticker-shock since I didn’t get the “happy hour” discount, but it was worth it.

OH – The Art Institute of Chicago! Don’t miss it. I defnitely could have used more time here…the rainy day made it quite the place to be so it was pretty crowded, but so worth it! And you can take pictures there as long as there is no flash so I didn’t damage any works of art by snapping a few pics.

I can’t wait to go back! Who’s with me???

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

