This time last week my sweet Dad was making reservations at a restaurant to celebrate my recent job change and all-around good things happening on the work-front. He would NOT tell me where we were going which made it a little difficult only because when I go to Napa I tend to bring my laundry and if it crosses my mind…maybe an extra pair of shoes that aren’t flip-flops. Anyhow, I ran a quick load of laundry which resolved the wardrobe problem and off we went. It was SO exciting…I had no clue where we were headed. We passed all the usual spots…and finally we pulled into the parking lot downtown in the newly renovated riverfront district. Hmm…there are a few new restaurants in this area and my eyes popped wide open when he said we were going to…FISH STORY! I’ve passed by this place numerous times and it was definitely on my hit list. We started off with a gin & tonic and perused the extensive menu. As a starter, we decided to split the Steamed Acadia Blue Mussels which were DELICIOUS and could easily be a main course for one. We then split the Little Gem Lettuce salad which was fresh and yummy. Dad ordered the halibut (his thought it was slightly over-cooked) and I had the Grilled Washington Steelhead (I thought it was fabulous). And the fingerling potato hash that accompanied my fish? Hello! What is that recipe?? Oh, and we wrapped up the meal with Valrhona Chocolate Bread Pudding (YUM) and Butterscotch Pudding (it was tasty, but Don Giovanni’s is still the best).

It was so fun to try out a new restaurant and new food and THE sweetest thing that my Dad took me out to celebrate. I am one of the LUCKIEST girls in the world! Thanks, Dad!

