I’m going to share something with you, my fans. I, polkstreetandmore, am not a black woman. Which makes it puzzling as to why I found an Essence magazine in my mailbox today. I thought it was meant for the lady of color in the apartment above me, but no…it was addressed to me. For those of you not familiar, Essence is a monthly magazine for African-American women between the ages of 18 and 49.”

Due to my newly discovered ethnicity I’ve been familiarizing myself with hip hop phrases from the “Bay Area Hip Hop Dictionary“.

A few of my new phrases…

850 – 850 Bryant, San Francisco is the address for the San Francisco County Jail. It stands ominously in SOMA, and can be seen from the freeway to the Bay Bridge. Many San Francisco rappers refer to this building as 850.
(Editor’s note: I’ve been here for jury duty and is scary blueberry!)
Bluebird – Refering to something that is hassling or bothering you. It could refer to anything from the police to a nagging girlfriend.
(Editor’s note: I thought this was so cute I had to share it)
Four fittaleeny – 415 San Francisco county.
(Editor’s note: That’s me, I’m a four-fittaleeny)
Folkies, Folkers – Friends, homies.
(Editor’s note: This is a toughie. I’m so used to sayin’ homies and bloods, but I will truly try to use Folkies more regularly)

Teehee…I feel hip hop already!!

