Mon frere numero trois happened to be in town tonight and as an avid follower of polkstreetandmore he wanted to check out La Trappe which I did a post about a few days ago. They have beers from all over the world…hence me showing off my sophisticated linguistic skillology.

So, after a quick beer at Burgermeister we walked one block north to La Trappe. We started off with the Pajottenland Toast (Sliced Pumpernickel with fromage blanc, sweet watermelon radish, and crisp scallions) and a Damnation beer from Russian River brewery for him and a Curieux (Bourbon barrel aged beer) for me. The pumpernickel toasts were so clean and fresh…yummy. According to #3 the Curieux really does have a strong hint of bourbon. Who knew? Never having had bourbon I couldn’t tell. I just knew it was delicious.

Now, #3 had never had mussels before. Can you believe it? He loves clams in butter/garlic so I thought he’d for sure like the Mariniere mussels (Wittekerke white beer sauce reduction with lemon, shallots, and fresh herbs) and I was right. Yay! The mussels are served with fries and your choice of dipping sauces…I went with ketchup, dijon, and an aioli. #3 had another Damnation and I opted to switch it up with an Italian Pilsner (Tilo Pils) which tasted like any other Pilsner I’ve ever tasted. People go nutty over the fries, but we agreed…they aren’t “all that and a bag of chips”.

The basement area is so dark that the pictures of the mussels and fries didn’t quite turn out, but thanks to the candle light I managed an “ok” shot of the Pajottenland Toast.

As we were wrapping up dinner #3 over-heard someone at the bar say it was Hitler’s birthday today. So, I thought I should inform him that it’s also “420 day“…the day pot-smokers unite and toke up at 4:20 on 4/20.

#3…you’re not in Texas anymore…

