Pookie, Mini-Pookie and I went for a hike today. For those of you unfamiliar with our version of a hike let’s just say we don’t walk on dirt or venture more than 10 minutes from a Starbucks. It’s not to say that we wouldn’t, but for our purpose a little fresh air and quality time is all we’re after. Of course, the first 30 seconds of us meeting is exchanging things – I brought this book for you (thank you!), here are some pictures (ooh, great!), here’s your shelf back (darn, now who do I pawn this off on?), etc…

We clocked a good 45-minutes around the Stanford golf course. A lovely setting I must say. After our brisk walk & mp learning how to beep her stroller horn when a cute biker rode by (ok, we’re still working on that) we headed to part 2 of our hike…The Stanford Mall. Not only is it great to get out of the city, but it’s great to go where the beautiful people are. People dress nicer here, everyone is clean, kids are cuter, no one is sleeping under the benches, and you don’t get asked for money by someone without teeth every 10 feet. The trees are greener, the flowers more colorful, and the sky more blue. I would dare say that if I were to drop a bagel on the ground at Stanford Mall that the 5 second rule would apply. My Lord, if this is heaven save me a spot.

Stanford Mall

Stanford Mall

 

So we did a little shopping and found ourselves a few good deals (we are very good shoppers) and finally had to call an end to our…err…hike. I’d also like to point out that our sense of direction was nothing short of stellar today. Call it divine intervention, but we didn’t get lost once!

 

