Mom and Dad were in the city today (yay!) so after work I met them in Chinatown. We had a delightful stroll down Grant perusing all the Chinese treasures (i purchased chopsticks to replace the ones I used as paint stirrers a few months ago). It was crazy warm today. I didn’t think about it until now, but this is “earthquake weather“. Hot and calm. I guess I should double-check that my first aid kit is up-to-date. (It is, but it’s fun to organize it). I’ll really be bummed if my weekend is ruined because I’m stuck under a pile of rubble. Anyhow, we had a beer at a bar on Kearney @ Jackson (sorry, I don’t remember the name) and then scooted next door for dinner at House of Nanking. I’m a devotee of Tai Chi on Polk because they serve up the best American Chinese food in town, but HofN is not your average American Chinese cuisine. Acknowledging that it was our first visit our waitress asked us what we liked (vegetables, shrimp, and scallops) and scribbled frantically on her menu pad. Before she walked away I belted out “egg rolls” just to make sure I got something I was familiar with. The asparagus dish was fantastic, the shrimp dish was hands-down my favorite, and the scallops did not disappoint. As it turned out the egg rolls were delicious, but unnecessary. Next time I’ll pretend I’m a newbie and just roll with it (hold the egg)…

House of Nanking

House of Nanking

